Words: Milly Lupton

Lianne La Havas releases ‘Can't Fight’ and announces new album 'Lianne La Havas'

This is the third single release from the ethereal singer in the lead up to her third album, 'Lianne La Havas'. which drops in July.

The track, co-written and produced by Mura Masa, is also Annie Mac's hottest record.

Following on from ‘Bittersweet’ and the exquisite ‘Paper Thin’ which was released in conjunction with details of the new record, Lianne La Havas is pleased to share the next instalment of her eponymous and highly anticipated third album with new single ‘Can’t Fight’.

Co-written and produced by Mura Masa – ‘Can’t Fight’ is a beautifully crafted ode to the push-pull of a relationship that is struggling to find its natural equilibrium. The truth that you need to break free from it but the love and belief that you can make it work keeps pulling you back in.

Lianne speaks on the making and meaning behind the record;

You know it’s not good, but you can’t you can’t not do it. People say if you’re having a hard time in a relationship, just leave. It’s so easy to say, but it’s so much more complicated than that. Because there’s two of you, and neither of you are perfect. And there are things that you’re learning along the way. So you think, Well, let me do a little bit of work and just see if we can get that feeling back – it’s possible because we do really love each other. So I guess at the time, I was convinced that yes, it’s hard, but we can get through this.”

I made it with Mura Masa in in Peckham. I first worked with him a few years ago, around the time of my second album coming out, and I just love his music. We were listening to a lot of Vulfpeck – they’re incredible musicians, really deep beats with classic soulful melodies but with a contemporary, slightly nerdy take on it, in the best possible way.”

‘Lianne La Havas’ is an exquisite, rich, and tender expression of love, loss, and rebirth that marks a new era for the British artist.

Pre-order HERE / Digital pre-save HERE

Album Track list:

  1. Bittersweet

  2. Read My Mind

  3. Green Papaya

  4. Can’t fight

  5. Paper Thin

  6. Out Of Your Mind (Interlude)

  7. Weird Fishes

  8. Please Don’t Make Me Cry

  9. Seven Times

  10. Courage

  11. Sour Flower


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All